Faculty | Anthropology | Philosophy | Psychology | Ross School of Business | Other Universities

Shinobu Kitayama
kitayma@umich.edu

Professor of Psychology
Director of the Culture & Cognition Program

Shinobu Kitayama's research interests include: culture and self, psychological consequences of voluntary settlement, aging and social class, and health and wellbeing. CV


Richard E. Nisbett
nisbett@umich.edu

Theodore M. Newcomb Distinguished University Professor and Professor of Psychology
Co-Director of the Culture & Cognition Program

Nisbett's research interests focus on reasoning and social judgment. He has also conducted research on the "culture of honor" in the U.S. South and West. Recent work focuses on the differences in East Asian and Western reasoning styles. He is beginning research on the possibility that people become wiser with age and research on the ways that people of different social classes reason and understand the world. He is also beginning work on the detection of deception.

Anthropology

Scott Atran, satran@umich.edu
Associate Research Scientist, Adjunct Professor of Psychology

website

Richard I. Ford, riford@umich.edu
Professor of Anthropology

website

Webb Keane, wkeane@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Anthropology

website

Bruce Mannheim, mannheim@umich.edu
Professor of Anthropology

website

Philosophy

Allan F. Gibbard, gibbard@umich.edu
Richard B. Brandt Distinguished University Professor of Philosophy

website

Psychology

Clinical

Sheryl L. Olson, slolson@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Cognition and Perception

Colleen M. Seifert, seifert@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Gary M. Olson, gmo@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology and Paul M. Fitts Collegiate Professor of Human Computer Interaction

website

J. Frank Yates, jfyates@umich.edu
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Psychology

website


Developmental

Susan A . Gelman, gelman@umich.edu
Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professor of Psychology

website

Arnold J. Sameroff, sameroff@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Marilyn J. Shatz, shatz@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Jacqui Smith, smitjacq@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Henry M. Wellman, hmw@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Personality and Social Contexts

Fiona Lee, fionalee@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Management and Organizations & Associate Professor of Psychology

website

Ram Mahalingam, ramawasi@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Psychology

website

David G. Winter, dgwinter@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Social

Phoebe C. Ellsworth, pce@umich.edu
The Frank Murphy Distinguished University Professor of Law and Psychology

website

Richard Gonzalez, gonzo@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology

website

Patricia Gurin, pgurin@umich.edu
Nancy Cantor Distinguished University Professor, Emerita of Psychology and Women's Studies

website

L. Rowell Huesmann, huesmann@umich.edu
Amos N. Tversky Collegiate Professor of Communication Studies and Psychology

website

James S. Jackson, jamessj@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology and Director of Institute for Social Research

website

Ethan Kross, ekross@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Psychology

website

Daphna R Oyserman, daphna@umich.edu
Professor of Psychology and School of Social Work

website

Norbert Schwarz, nschwarz@umich.edu
Charles Horton Cooley Collegiate Professor of Psychology

website

Denise Sekaquaptewa, dsekaqua@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Psychology

website

Ybarra, Oscar, oybarra@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Psychology

website

Other

Brian Malley, bmalley@umich.edu
Lecturer

website

Ross School of Business School

Jeffrey Sanchez-Burks, jsanchezburks@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Management and Organizations

website

Marvin G. Parnes, mgparnes@umich.edu
Associate Vice President for Research and Executive of Research Administration

website

Carolyn Yoon, yoonc@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Marketing

website

Other Universities

Hazel Markus, hmarkus@psych.stanford.edu
Professor of Psychology, Stanford University

website

Dan Sperber, dan@sperber.com
Directeur de Recherche au CNRS, Paris FRANCE

website

Harvey Whitehouse, harvey.whitehouse@anthro.ox.ac.uk
Professor of Social Anthropology and Head of the School of Anthropology, University of Oxford, UK

website